top of page

Daylight's Luna and Star

Well, after a week of teasing me with what appeared to be signs of labor, Daylight finally had her day. Yesterday morning at about 8:20 AM Daylight kidded two beautiful doelings. We've decided to name them Luna and Star.

It was actually Daisy's due date today, but her sister beat her to it. Daisy is still pregnant.

Luna and Star's sire is C&W Farm Zena's Noble Knight. Noble Knight comes from a great Nubian line. I'm so excited to have his genetics in our future American Nubain line.

Luna and Star are recognized as 75% American Nubian by the American Dairy Goat Association. I'm really excited about these two doelings!!

(Daylight and her Luna and Star right after delivery)

Below is Luna.

Below is Star.

(Above is Noble Knight- the sire to these two doelings.)

Daylight's Labor Story

At midnight I had gone out to check on Daylight and saw a thin string of mucous so I sat and watched her for about 40 minutes. No contractions but the ligaments were gone. I decided to go back to bed since to me it had felt like her ligaments were gone for 2 days. And since she had faked me out before, I figured I had time.

At 5:45 AM I went out to check on her and she was just a little different. No mucous, but she was squating wihout peeing (figured that was a contraction) and she was restless- pawing the ground, laying down, standing up, repeat. I figured I had some time so I put her in "the birth suite" and went about milking Darla and doing the other morning barn chores. At 7:40 AM I said goodbye to my kids as they left for the school bus and, being the goat midwife I am becoming, I planted myself in the birth suite with Daylight.

She never had any really big show of mucous but at about 8 AM she laid down and started pushing.

A Video Is Worth A Lot Of Words (Especially when your typing with one hand)

Here's part A of Daylight's Delivery. I had to put my camera down cause Luna was malpresenting head first, no hooves, and was stuck. I had to do a little helping and just couldn't hold my camera with casted hand and do my best to assist in getting her out. I have to say I was a little nervous, but it turned out fine. Part B is blow also. Star shot out without a hitch.

Part A: Luna

Part B: Star

Daylight, Luna and Star, are all doing very well.

Now to wait for Daisy's turn.

Featured Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Archive
Recent Posts
bottom of page