top of page

Meanwhile, back on the ranch...


It's been a busy couple of months. Since school let out for my boys we have sold 4 of our kids (the goat kind). Mush and Chuey went to a great couple in the Yuma area. Lily and Star went to a sweet family in the Tuscon area and will be in 4-H with that family. And today we have a buyer coming to look at (and possibly take home) Daisy and Daylight.

This will bring our herd down to Darla, Esmeralda, Luna and Mulan. Plus the wethers: Danny and Champ (and I am planning to sell Danny). So from 12 to 7 we will be. And that's a much more manageable number for our purposes.

Our purposes have developed a lot in the past couple months too. We started GoatsMakeSoap.com and have been quite surprised and the great response. I am absolutely enjoying making our goat milk soaps. Selling them is just a nice surprise. I actually look forward to getting in the shower everyday so I can use my soap! Whether the business turns out to be successfull or not, Lord willing, I will continue making soaps. And selling a few. And giving lots away to friends and family.

So that's the scoop. Goat raising life is pretty low key right now. I'm milking 2 does every morning and 1 every evening. I'm leaving Daylight on her daughter and am not milking her right now since I really don't have enough room for all that milk. I'm making lots of chevre and sharing milk and cheese with neighbors and friends. And I still have milk coming out of my ears! Guess there are worse problems in the world.

It's too darn hot to be out there spending much time with the goats right now. I used to spend time every evening just sitting out there with them, but when it's 115 degrees a few minutes is all I can handle.

Time goes by so fast. In just a blink the kids will be back in school which means Christmas is around the corner which means breeding season and another kidding season coming soon! In the mean time, as a very wise friend and neighbor reminded me this morning: Don't worry about tomorrow. Each day has enough trouble of it's own (from the Bible :).


Featured Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Archive
Recent Posts
bottom of page